Vacations and Timers

So yeah, it’s been a while since I updated. It happens. But now I’m back from vacation. The good news is that I have continued to make progress on Life With a View. Right now that is the most important thing. But as I think about what I am trying to accomplish I slowly begin to feel guilty about neglecting my WIP blog. It is bad manners on my part and frankly, a little lazy.

-Queue the excuses-

1. I went on vacation to the wonderfully ancient tree-filled, beautiful beach adorned, mountainous island of Yakushima in Southern Japan. I’ve never really gone on a vacation like it before and I didn’t know how to handle it. I had a great time there but I seem to require a vacation from my vacation.

2. I’m lazy. I hate to admit it but it is true. It’s so much easier to direct energy towards firmly established things. On-going, nebulous projects are easy to ignore. I can’t let this happen anymore.

3. I’m easily overwhelmed. I think perhaps this is my biggest weakness. I become flustered easily when too many new things I don’t understand begin happening around me. I can’t process all of it and I soon lose focus and give up. Knowing about this is the beginning of the battle. I will continue to tackle things the best I know how.

-Exit the excuses-

Okay. I got that soul bearing stuff out of the way. Now a call to action is required.

I become a perpetual consumer when I lose heart and focus. Sometimes I can find something that puts me back on track. What I’ve noticed is that each time my leave becomes shorter. I find this is key to my goal of creating in my life a passion for resilience. I can not and will not give up.

On that note, I would like to share a link to some useful advice by author Elizabeth Gilbert. Take what you want from it. But 30 minutes is better than none. We’re in this for the long run, resilience. Not a one time thing. Hope it helps.

//

2 thoughts on “Vacations and Timers

Where will it lead?

