One Notebook Complete

IMG_7711I’m not sure exactly what it means but I have filled one notebook with new content for Life With a View. As I look back on the past month or so it shows that I have averaged about 433 words a day during that time. Not the 1,000 word goal I was going for. Not even close, actually. But I don’t feel as though I have failed. Maybe I’m trying to be overly optimistic, but even meeting half my goal for that period feels like a success.

A lot has happened in the past month. Both in my life and the story. I feel like this project will be a success. I’ve learned a lot about my process during this time and I feel now is a suitable place to reevaluate my goals. Perhaps make them a bit more realistic.

In my last post, I shared my discovery of Elizabeth Gilbert’s 30 minute idea, which I have adopted with fierce determination in many aspects of my life. It has split my day into bite size components that I find easy to plan. Thirty minutes isn’t too much, but you can still accomplish a decent amount of work in that time. Each person has what works for them and 30 minutes seems to work for me for now. After all, 30 minutes is more than none.

Forward I go. I wish you well in all your creative endeavors.

IMG_7708

Hope the day brings you joy!

3 thoughts on “One Notebook Complete

  1. Good on you, Matt! So nice to see you doing what you love and actually enjoying it. Yes, thirty minutes isn’t a lot but if you are committed to those minutes, you will get a lot done. I’m trying to get into the habit of writing something everyday…so I hope to follow in your footsteps. Good luck with the rest of the project.

    1. Your words are too kind. But they give me strength. Things are really crazy now and I find that I have to focus on my projects or else my mind will wander off into some nebulous space. I believe in you, too! Thanks!

Where will it lead?

