Transitions… Wait. NO! Jetlag. That’s it.

So yeah. The last few posts have been very far from content production or even the nature of process of my novel. It seems that I have officially lost my focus.

Or have I?

Yeah, I probably have.

Time for a little update. I’ve been away from my native country for more than two years. In that time I managed to travel to Japan and New Zealand; two of those years living and working in Japan. Coming back to the U.S. after such a gap has been shocking at best. There are so many things I have to catch up on, paperwork-wise. For example, I now hold an official driver’s license again! It’s been two years since I have driven. Time to start doing that again.  I don’t want to but I know I have to.

There’s more but I’m not ready to talk about those things. Right now I would like to talk about travel, in particular, jetlag. Yes. Jetlag. That wonderful conglomeration of uncontrollable emotions and feelings, those unsuccessful attempts to fall asleep when it is noon for you but midnight where you are, and a heavy dose of constant confusion due to the fact that everything, and I mean everything, around you is different.

I had such big plans for production during the past few weeks. I thought that time would be waiting for me while I traveled. It didn’t quite work out that way. I remember sitting on the 15 hour flight from Sydney to Texas. 15 hours of captive (forced) concentration. Pen in hand could have resulted in so much production. Did it happen?

Of course it didn’t.

Because I’m not that good.

I remember watching a person typing away at their computer while on the plane. I was envious. Now that person knew how to use their time wisely.

Me, on the other hand, straddled a world that was at once filled with a diverse collection of movies, reading, and a strange sleep that I tend to refer to more as meditation. I just can’t sleep on planes. Nor does it seem that I can accomplish any meaningful production on one either. The whole journey took about 30 hours from beginning to end. One day and a quarter plus or minus any of the strange ancillary preparations and subsequent jetlag.

But I can’t stop thinking about that person. In some ways I want to be like them. But then I start to think about them and I think about me. I’m not such a bad person. I’m certainly not perfect. I did write today. And I wrote yesterday. I will write tomorrow.

Time to get this thing back on track.

There are many more unknowns coming my way.

Guess I’ll just have to make sure that writing isn’t one of them.

One thought on “Transitions… Wait. NO! Jetlag. That’s it.

  1. I can totally relate to this. I can never sleep on a plane either. I can read a book on a plane but can’t absorb much of what I’m reading then. You summed up an emotion we all feel as we travel: confusion. Even doing what we love doesn’t make us comfortable. Maybe it’s a physical thing. Sometimes we, or body, can only handle so much and we have to settle for second-best, once again.

    It’s great to hear that you’re getting back into the groove of writing. Hope it stays that way. Sometimes writing takes us in different directions – if we allow it. I’ve been trying to work on my book but have been side-tracked by wonderful freelance work these two weeks…sometimes, something’s got to give. But is getting sidetracked for the better? It might not be good for my book but maybe it might be good for me as a writer.

Where will it lead?

