Back on Track

And then things fell back on track. It’s been a few weeks of utter madness with all the travel and moving. Not that the entire ordeal is over. Not even close. Our situation is still transitory at best but at least there is a little stability for the time being. Although internet access is not stable I will try my best to keep things moving here on Cultivating Creativity. Thanks to you that take the time out of your day to ponder my thoughts.

There’s been a lot of reflection necessary in the intervening moments. It’s a big change finding ourselves back in the place we were a few years ago. The thing is, we aren’t the same people, nor is the place quite the same either. The transition to our home culture is going to take some time. The internet is pretty much the same wherever you go, but even that is a little piece that comes and goes.

Time to talk about writing again.

The other day I had a wonderful conversation with creator friend of mine. As creators, we have both struggled through the whole “this isn’t good enough” or “why would anybody want to consume my work”. Standard for the course.

We never think we’re good enough.

Thinking like that will freeze production and ultimately, improvement.

In order to improve, we must create, we must consume, we must discuss. We must.

I don’t know if what I’m doing is going to be of any value to anybody. I take that back. I know it sounds a little egotistical, but it is of value to me. Each day that I sit down and take that time to create is another day full of potential improvement. Sometimes it feels like madness, I don’t know what’s happening, things are getting out of control, who is this new character?, why did that happen?, well now that’s just going to end up changing the entire story. It’s part of the process. Forge ahead and learn from it.

Creating is not easy. Like any job, it can bring wonderful feelings of satisfaction and complete frustration. The good comes with the bad. In the end, we just can’t give up that which we have set out to do. Stick around and keep at it.

Keep creating.

Keep consuming.

Keep discussing.

And the most distressing of all.

Keep submitting.

Because a true creation isn’t created until it is shared.

3 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. Glad to hear you’re a bit settled now, Matthew. It’s interesting to hear you say that we are never the same people when we go back to a certain place. I recently chose to go back to an old job – old office, same faces – and somehow it feels…different. We feel like we have moved on and coming back feels wrong in some ways. Because, as they say, “onwards, upwards and forwards”.

    You’re right. Creating is never easy. It’s a job, it’s work, work we choose to do because it makes us feel good. At the end of the day, the question is: why create? Just why? We can only wonder, for now.

    1. “onwards, upwards and forwards”
      That is a big concept that I’ve had to deal with recently. I’m just not sure how to tackle it because I don’t want to hurt anybody. I could go back to my old job but it isn’t the kind of work I want to do with my life. I love that job but… There’s so much to work through. All I know right now is that I must stay focused on writing. Thanks for everything. Your words are always welcome.

      1. All the best with things on the job front. Wherever we go, change is always around the corner and it’s challenging. Love reading your thoughts on the writing process, gets me thinking. Thank you, and talk soon.

Where will it lead?