Rising from the Demands of Consumption

It’s not as bad as it sounds. Consumption. Consumers. Consumerism and the like. There is a time for consuming and a time for producing. I am a firm believer in this. I’m in my last semester of a master’s degree in Industrial Archaeology. It has been a wonderful experience for a number of reasons but I also find myself wanting for something that the program couldn’t provide. It isn’t the responsibility of the program to make me produce that is on me.

Production.

I’m not saying it was bad experience. Not by any means. A year and a half of consuming and synthesizing all the information coming at me was good. Thought provoking discussions with professors and other participants have been extremely valuable. It has supplied me with more information than I know what to do with and will keep me going for years and now I am aware of an entirely new body of literature out there and how to access it.

But now comes the thesis and it is time to produce.

This shift is a little shocking. It carries with it a certain expectation, both externally and internally. This shift needs to happen quickly.

How can I do that?

Deadlines. Organization.

Sitting down and doing the work.

It sounds simple but it isn’t. The current political climate produces a damaging impact on the creative process, not to mention that any jobs I planned for are actively being dismantled by the current administration. But I believe there is a way to convert all that negative energy into positive, productive creations that address the issues of the day.

This, I must hold on to.

2 thoughts on “Rising from the Demands of Consumption

  1. Good luck with the thesis. Consumption feeds on production, and production on consumption. Keep moving, keep learning. Hope you are still writing what makes you happy too. Best wishes for the year ahead 😊

Where will it lead?

